|SWANNINGTON CRICKET CLUB|
Swannington Cricket Club once played on the stretch of meadow which lies between Heath Farm and the former Chapel site. It is hard to imagine the present overgrown marshy field as a cricket pitch!
The modern era all started with a WW2 fund raising event held on the parkland in front of Little Witchingham Hall. A strip of grass had been cut to help with the organised events. Immediately after the war, some of the local players approached the owners, the Arthurton family, seeking permission to create a pitch and play on this same strip. Permission was granted, and for about 15 years cricket thrived on this very picturesque parkland. There were a few mature trees within the boundary, but 'local rules' made light of this shortcoming.It unfortunately all came to an end when an internal 'bust up' brought the club to an abrupt end.
|Stuart Surridge presenting Swannington with the Norwich and District League Winners Cup in either 1958 or 1959.|
The second team photograph appears to have been taken at Sloughbottom Park, Norwich. Back Row, L to R: K Betts, Harry Arthurton, Sam Green, G Clarke, John Hall, & Noel Cushion. Front Row, L to R: Kenny Bowman, Peter Fuller, Harold Lake, Bertie Soames, & Ernie Holland. Thanks to the Dunning family & Ron Downing for the identification of the players.
The 'get-together' was used to celebrate receiving their trophies. Which cup did they win ? Where was the celebration held ? Which year was it ?
The group photographs were kindly supplied by Mrs Ivy Lake. It is thought that they were all taken in the 1950's
R GIBBONS © 2002